My God Transcendent

“Then the LORD answered Job out of the whirlwind…”
What a verse!
What a phrase!
Do you not yet understand?

The I AM–the One who could not be defined but by Himself–
God the Creator,
God the Redeemer,
Gives audience to created man–

The One who told the oceans thus far and no farther,
Star-sower,
Wind-gatherer,
He who commands the morning.

In highest majesty and power, He reigns in the Heavens,
Earth His footstool,
Holy is His throne,
And the trains of His robe fill the Temple!

But what King lowers Himself to His peasants’ livelihoods–
To walk with them,
Claim them as His own,
And be claimed by them in return?

What King sends His only Son to be the Savior of His people–
To heal them,
To bring them hope,
To buy their redemption with His own blood?

He who owes no man and to Whom all are beholden promised:
I will be your God,
You will be My people,
And I will make My dwelling among you.

The God of all wonders deigns to come and seek us
To be our Shepherd,
To be Abba, Father,
To claim us as His chosen people.

The God transcendent, infinitely glorious, and omnipotent:
Around all,
Above all,
And yet I may call Him “mine”.

